Home Minor League Football System logo  

Will Birmingham join the Minor League Football System?

February 10, 1989
Ed Watkins announces that Birmingham is one of 14 charter member franchises of the Minor League Football System.

Representatives from all 14 teams have just completed two days of meetings where they were discussing logistics and other plans for their inaugural season.

Watkins is one of the founders of the MLFS, which is scheduled to begin play in August of 1989. Players will not be paid initially, but organizers believe the league's growth potential will allow salaries to be given within a few years.

Seventeen teams are planned, but to date only 14 have been organized. In addition to Birmingham, the other franchises will be based in Seattle, West Palm Beach, Hayward (CA), Fairfax, Portland, Wilmington, Raleigh, Colorado Springs, Omaha, Tulsa, Scranton, Lowell (MA), and one Canadian team which will be based in Ottawa. Teams will be split into West Coast, Midwest and East Coast divisions. Each franchise has paid a $10,000 league entry fee and $2,000 to attend the initial league meetings.

March 16, 1989
The MLFS releases a list of 12 franchises that will begin play in late July of this year.

Birmingham is not in that list.

  xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx  
Bay State Titans logo   California Outlaws logo   Logo
  Colorado Springs Spirit logo   Florida Renegades logo
Bay State Titans   California Outlaws   Charlotte Barons   Colorado Springs Spirit   Florida Renegades
Fresno Bandits logo   Logo
  Middle Georgia Heat Wave logo   Oklahoma City Twisters logo   Pueblo Crusaders logo
Fresno Bandits   Harrisburg Patriots   Middle Georgia Heat Wave   Oklahoma City Twisters   Pueblo Crusaders
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Stallions logo   Tacoma Express logo            
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Stallions   Tacoma Express            
The Minor League Football System managed to play two years before folding.
Contact Gene Crowley
Last update: November 09, 2018